Wind Horse Travels and Tours
Toll Free: USA 1 888 83- 46773 | UK 02030027714
You are Here: Home > nepal > Testimonials

Testimonials

No Trips in your shortlist

BackPost Your Testimonial

It is one thing to toot your own horn, but something else when some speaks for you. Following are unedited testimonials of some of our past clients, many of whom will vouch for us.

TID 692 Drukyul Walking Tours (12.11.13 – 25.11.13)

When people ask me what my favorite part of Bhutan was, I have to say that it was seeing Bhutan through our guide Sonam's eyes. Being in the presence of a devout Buddhist and hearing stories of his life and the people of Bhutan was remarkable. His enthusiasm made me feel like we were his first personal guests in Bhutan! While most people seem to really like their guides, I am convinced that Sonam is the best la! I felt I truly entered another world, so different from my life in the USA and my earlier travels in Scandinavia. Every day of our tour was an adventure and we were blessed with blue skies and sunny weather the entire 2 weeks. Potential travelers should not take lightly the altitude and the nature of the roads. I really hadn't anticipated that they would be so challenging; be prepared with altitude sickness medication and patches for car sickness. Our driver, Barleman was the best. It was a little scary at first on the left side of these narrow roads but we soon found we could put our full faith in his driving skills, sit back and enjoy the view. There were 4 travelers in our tour and this seemed perfect. We definitely saw tons of temples and I felt like I was visually drunk on their beauty.  I loved the walk through the valley farms where we saw the harvesting of rice taking place. As other travelers have noted, the accommodations were adequate, but even with space heaters, I wore warm clothes at night at times. The food; yes, much is written about the food. We had very good food at the YT Hotel and at the restaurant near the Wind Horse office in Thimphu. Otherwise, the food was monotonous and I have to say after two weeks, it was hard to face another "buffet". For a couple of foodies, we learned to" eat to live" instead of "living to eat", which is a valuable experience in and of itself,  and part of immersing yourself in a culture void of the fancy restaurants and emphasis on food elsewhere in the world. There were two things I would have enjoyed which we did not do; visit a school and have an opportunity to spend time with some local families. Since we were never at a loss for things to do, I didn't specifically request this, but in retrospect I think we could have sacrificed a few temples for this. This tour was more than I could have envisioned and will live long and vividly in my memory.  Thank you Wind Horse!

Posted on Jan. 29, 14
Nancy O
Seattle, Washington, USA

TID 687 Grand Cultural Tour (Dec 09th to Dec 20th) 2013

Well, Patrice and I have been back from Bhutan for about 10 days now. What a marvelous trip! 

Chimi and Jambay provided extraordinary service, flexibility, and good humor in accommodating our little group's challenges. Chimi's ready smile was always a pleasure and his driving skill exemplary. Jambay made numerous extra efforts for us, was always successful in providing us unique experiences. He also showed total patience and resourcefulness in helping us through William (and Merra's) medical crisis.
Windhorse did an excellent job preparing us for the trip, and also in helping with William's encounters with the medical facilities.
I have nothing but praise and gratitude for the service you've provided.
Thank you!

Posted on Jan. 03, 14
Dan T
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Three Himalayan Kingdom TID:663 (Oct 07-20 2013)
Hi Anand, We would like to make a few comments. The room we stayed at Kyichu Hotel in Lhasa, China was the worst in the trip.  Maybe we were just unlucky.  The bathroom was dirty with molds.  The water temperature of the shower was hard to control and unstable that one could easily get scalded. The room had no AC.  When we complained the room was cold, the hotel staff put a portable heater with humidifier in the room, which was good and much appreciated.  Still it was hard to get the right room temperature from the heater, either the room was not warm enough or too hot for a good night’s sleep.
Potala Palace is huge and has many steps to climb. Will it be less taxing if the visit is scheduled a day later, after having more time to become acclimatized to the altitude, though everyone is anxious to visit Potala Palace the first thing in Lhasa?
We did a few day hikes to see the natural beauty of Bhutan.   Some members in the group are fast hikers while others slow hikers.  To keep the group together for safety reasons, should the guide lead with the slowest hiker to set the pace?  In case fast hikers do not want to keep their pace with the slowest hikers and hike ahead, should the guide stay at the rear of the group?  That’s our opinion we could be wrong.
Theguide (sorry we forgot the names of all guides) we had in Lhasa is very knowledgeable about Tibetan culture and Tibetan Buddhism.  He is a passionate and enthusiastic person. We greatly appreciated his service which was informative, friendly and accommodating.  His only weakness is his English.  We understand as we have been fore-warned about the language skills of Tibetan guides. All in the entire trip was a pleasant, memorable experience that we really enjoyed.
Ken and Ngai So Chu


Posted on Oct. 20, 13
Ngai So Chu
Toronto,Canada,Ontario.

Three Himalayan Kingdom TID 663:Oct. 07-20,2013
I RECENTLY RETURNED HOME FROM A TRIP I TOOK WITH YOUR COMPANY TO TIBET, NEPAL, AND BHUTAN WHICH LEFT ON OCTOBER 5, 2013. IT WAS A MARVELOUS ADVENTURE. OUR GROUP OF 8 WERE TRAVELERS FROM CANADA AND THE UNITED STATES - 5 AND 3 RESPECTIVELY. WE WERE VERY COMPATIBLE AND HAD SUCH FUN TOGETHER ON OUR JOURNEY. AT THIS TIME,I WOULD LIKE TO COMPLIMENT YOU UPON YOUR SELECTION OF OUR GUIDES. OUR GUIDE FROM TIBET, NIMA, WAS EXCELLENT. HE WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT HIS COUNTRY, CULTURE, AND CUSTOMS AND SHARED MANY INTERESTING DETAILS WITH US. BUT MOST OF ALL, I WANT YOU TO BE AWARE OF HIS WARM, CARING COMPASSION. I WAS ADVERSELY AFFECTED BY THE HIGH ALTITUDES BUT WAS DETERMINED NOT TO MISS THE HIGHLIGHTS OF TIBET. HE KNEW MY DESIRE TO PERSEVERE AND WAS MOST HELPFUL TO "MAKE IT HAPPEN!!" OUR GUIDE FROM BHUTAN,GRUGIYL,WAS ALSO WONDERFUL.HE INTRODUCED HIS BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY TO US WITH MUCH ENTHUSIASM AND KNOWLEDGE AND MADE OUR TRIP THOUGH BHUTAN ABSOLUTELY
UNFORGETTABLE.IT WAS A GORGEOUS COUNTRY WITH THE LOVELIEST CITIZENS I HAVE EVER MET IN MY MANY TRAVELS. THEY WERE TO THE PERSON, DELIGHTFUL, CHARMING, POLITE, AND HELPFUL - AS WAS GRUGIYL!I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO MAKE MENTION OF OUR OUTSTANDING DRIVER, UGEN. HE WAS A LOVELY GENTLEMAN AND AN EXCEPTIONAL DRIVER. THEY WERE A PERFECT PAIR TO GUIDE US THROUGH BHUTAN.THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION AND CONSIDERATION IN THIS ASSESSMENT.


Nancy R
United States,New Jersey.

TID-692 Drukyul Walking Tour (12Nov – 25 Nov,2013)Hi Anand,The trip went wonderfully, I couldn’t have asked for a better tour!  I want to thank Wind Horse for setting us up with a fantastic guide Sonam and driver Barlemon.
Positives:
I liked how the tour incorporated walks and hikes, yet gave us enough time to relax at the hotel in the evening. Time management was efficient, our days were packed with enough activities.
Excellent tour guide, driver, and tour mates.Small group, 4 people seemed like the perfect size.  I saw some other groups with 10 plus people and I thought that was too many.I enjoyed Hotel YT and it’s staff. The staff and the owner YT were very friendly.  I also liked Dochula Resort because it had the warmest rooms! The heater in the room, bathroom, and electric blankets were a nice touch.
Negatives:
Not many, just little things.  Hotels did not have constant stream of hot water.  It may have been just me as my other tour mates did not have as many problems with the hot water as I have.  Mountain Lodge is a beautiful hotel, but where I experienced the most problems with hot showers, I couldn’t only take a hot shower for a few minutes before the water ran ice cold.  After an hour or so the hot water would start again but still only a few minutes.
Food was plenty and very good, but became redundant, all hotels and restaurants pretty much served the same food.Altitude was a factor for some people.  Maybe the final document should emphasize this more, or have the tour leader have some extra diamox or altitude medication as an emergency as the pharmacies there will not administer it without a prescription.  But this was only around Dochula.Once we went back to Paro everything was ok.A suggestion that was brought up by another person on the tour:  Water bottles.  I brought my own diamox and was drinking a lot of water, I ended up buying large water bottles in the hotels and general stores because the small water bottles provided daily were not enough for me. Although the free tea at the hotels were sufficient, I needed more fresh water.  The small water bottles I thought added to waste.  Maybe Windhorse can provide large water bottles (like a nalgene or camelback) with the Windhorse logo for sale , and can just refill that from filtered water or large bottles.
Overall, it was a trip of a lifetime and I will always cherish my time in Bhutan.


Susie P
Downey, California, USA
TID 698 Central Bhutan Tour (Oct 26 – Nov 06, 2013)
Hello Ugen.
Namgay had given me a form to complete evaluating our experience with Wind Horse Tours.  I seem to have misplaced it although I do recall some of the questions.  I hope that the evaluation which follows is of benefit and apologize for the different format.
Bhutan trip from October 26 to November 6
Guide
Namgay is an excellent guide and we thank you for pairing us with him.  He is extremely knowledgeable about the country, its culture and way of life, its religion, its topography and plant life.  In fact I don't think that we managed to stump him in the twelve days we were together.
He balanced the amount of information he shared with our interest levels, and was very patient in explaining things that were likely obvious to him but foreign to us.
We left Bhutan knowing so much more about Buddhism and especially the way in which the religion (or some would say way of life) impacted the country.  We felt that we had learned a lot about life in the countryside as well and especially enjoyed our time visiting the farmhouse. Namgay's support in preparing and encouraging me for the Tiger's Nest climb was especially appreciated. Namgay's resourcefulness was apparent as well, particularly when the car broke down far from a sizeable town.  He was able to obtain a ride for the three of us (and our luggage) to our lunch spot and by the time we had finished eating, a new car and driver had arrived.  Excellent!
Driver
We had two drivers, both of whom were very good.  They kept us safe, treated us with courtesy and were greatly appreciated.
Food
As you said in one of our earlier emails, a person doesn't go to Bhutan for the food.  Overall the places where we ate were clean and the service satisfactory.  However the food did leave a lot to be desired, especially by North American standards.  I think that the biggest deficiency was satisfactory meat, chicken or fish.
Accommodations
All of the hotels were clean and the personnel were polite. 
The hotel in Gangtey was more basic than the others - the rooms didn't seem to be heated, there was no water in the room nor was there soap.  However the staff was extremely friendly and kind and kept a woodstove going most of the time in the main dining hall so we could always find a place to warm up.

Barbara J
Toronto,Ontario, Cananda
TID 718 Bhutan Tour (24.11.13 – 30.11.13)
Dear Mr. Tshering, Dechen, Jamtsho, Dorji and Wind Horse Travel Staff:
Happy Tuesday!  We hope this email finds you all doing well. 
My husband (Juan Ochoa) and I just came back from the beautiful and breathtaking Kingdom of Bhutan. We spent 6 amazing days (Nov. 24 - 30) and the trip was beyond our expectations! Our unforgettable travel experience started here in the US working with Jambay Dorji and Ugen Tshering.  They provided us with timely and detailed responses about the trip and the alternatives we had while visiting Bhutan.
In Bhutan, we were lucky to have both Kinley Tenzin (KT) as our tour guide and Jam Rosh as our driver.  KT was extremely professional, knowledgeable and was always willing to answer our questions.  Jam Rosh was a very skillful driver and navigated the curvy roads with excellence.  They both were very attentive to our needs.  
Overall, our trip was well-organized, educational, comfortable, inspiring and filled with unique and unforgettable memories. We will always have Bhutan, its landscapes, spectacular mountains, monasteries, history and people in our hearts.Thank you for your professionalism and for making this trip an unforgettable and enriching experience.
Kind Regards,

Vivian M
San Francisco, California, USA
TID 681 Bhutan Tour (12.11.13 - 23.11.13) 1 means "far under our expectations"
2 means "under our expectations"
3 means "responding to our expectations"
4 : "above our expectation"
5 : "far above our expectations"
General rating of the trip : 4
1) Bhoutan
Guide Yeshi : 4. Commentaires intéressants. Très prévenant et attentif.
Driver Sonam: 4: excellent conducteur, très prudent. Sur les routes du Bhoutan un vrai plus que nous avons tout particulièrement apprécié. Également prévenant et attentif.
Programme bien organisé et intéressant: 4
Hôtels: 2/3. The level of comfort is good, but almost all of them have some problem of mainetance, isolation or electricity. Food is basic, even in 4* hotels. On n'attendait pas des hôtels de type européen mais dans l'ensemble ils avaient presque tous un ou deux défauts portant sur des éléments de confort essentiel. Problème général de gestion de la chaleur: isolation, portes ouvertes...ou eau chaude.
Restauration: globalement nous ne nous attendions pas à une cuisine très raffinée mais tout de même à mieux que ce qui nous été servi: 2
J1: Voyage aller avec le transfert et l'hôtel Uppal à Delhi :3: accueil et prestations parfaits 4
J2: voyage de Delhi à Paro: l'avion avait une heure de retard. Sur place pour le transfert à l'hôtel Druk à Thimphu notre guide Yeshi et notre chauffeur Sonam nous ont pris immédiatement en charge avec beaucoup de gentillesse. L'hôtel Druk offre des chambres + salon+ dressing particulièrement spacieuses et confortables. Seul bémol l'eau chaude est "capricieuse". Service attentif et agréable. En synthèse : 2 ( uniquement à cause de l'eau chaude, le reste était bien). Dîner: 3
J3: visite de Thimphu très intéressante. Les 9 points de visites étaient parfaitement agencés pour rendre cette journée aussi passionnante qu'agréable.
J4: de Thimphu à Punakha. Temps clair pour un trajet magnifique. Balade et visites merveilleuses. Hôtel Meri Puensum Resort, magnifique vue mais juste correct :2  mais il semble que la région n'offre pas d'autres choix. Repas corrects: 2
J5: merveilleuse ballade au temple de Chimé. Route longue mais grandiose vers Trongsa. Déjeuner médiocre : 1,( plats souvent froids comme la salle à manger). Visite du Dzong superbe. L'hôtel Yangkhil est bien, vue superbe:3. Dîner correct: 3
J6: Trongsa-Jakar. Très belle journée. Programme intéressant et varié. Déjeuner 3 ( le 2ème meilleur du séjour  ). Hôtel Yugharling est bien, avec une vue superbe: 3. Dîner: 2. Avec le recul, le meilleur hôtel de notre séjour au Bhoutan.
J7: Vallée de l'Ura. Très agréable ballade dans deux villages typiques intéressants. Sympathique pique-nique avec de vrais plats dans cadre grandiose. Dîner: 2
J8: Nord de Jakar. Magnifiques visites. Déjeuner: 1 mêmes remarques qu'au jour 5 (même restaurant) . Les grues noires sont au rendez-vous. Hôtel Dewachen : 2: rustique et amusant , magnifiquement situé, mais plutôt plus spartiate que sur le descriptif ( par exemple:  ni tapis de bain , ni verres dans la salle bain, chauffage "modeste" 18° dans la chambre,16,5° dans la salle bain (14° le matin car nous avions fermé la porte) , coupures de courant fréquentes. Dîner : 2
J9: retour vers Paro. Déjeuner sur la route:3. Hôtel Nak Sel: apparence plutôt luxueuse, une vue magnifique. Jolie chambre, mais très "fraîche" 17°, baignoire sale, La présence d'une souris doit sans doute être comprise comme accidentelle ? Très bonne réaction de notre guide qui a exigé une autre chambre pour nous, très bien. Abstraction faite de l'incident ci-dessus: 3. Repas:2 pour ma femme, 3 pour moi.
J10: visite de Paro, de ses temples, Dzong et musée très intéressante. Encore une excellente journée. Déjeuner bon: 3 ( le meilleur du séjour )
J11: randonnée au Tiger Nest: magique! Nous profitons du massage et Spa de l'hôtel: 4

Oliver D L
France

TID 630 Bhutan Festivals & Sikkim Jambay Lhakhang

Hi Uten
Just wanted to give you some feedback now that we are back home.  We were on the festival tour Oct. 16.  We really liked Bhutan, the sights and the people, but unfortunately we were not really satisfied with our guide.  Namgyol was very knowledgeable about Buddhist sights, but unfortunately he provided little or no information about the culture, social and educational information, etc. although we kept asking him those types of questions.  He was very concerned about our comfort when we checked into hotels.  Therefore we learned very little about the country which took away from our trip.
I am providing you with this feedback as we feel you are a very good tour operator and would want to know this.

Judith S
Tucson, Arizona, USA

TID 707 Grand Cultural Tour of Bhutan (14.10.13 - 23.10.13) Hello!  Well we're finally back into our routines and feel like we're in the right time zone!  We had a wonderful time during our tour thanks to the very capable Kinley and Chimmi our guide and driver.  Each of them went out of their way to make us happy and comfortable.  The hotels were always taken care of and so were our bags.  I'm not sure whether it was purely Kinley's idea but at one point he told us he was able to get us a "better hotel" in Punakha and that hotel ended up to be one of the highlights of the trip.Ugen was great as well.  It was a pleasure meeting him in Bhutan and sharing the ride from Bumthang to Thimpu one day.  After chatting with him, we are now thinking of doing a hike in eastern Bhutan someday in the future.The only thing we can think of that may be helpful in the future is to have a first aid kit in the vehicle.  At one point my husband cut himself (nothing major) and I got bit by something that made my arm swell up so having antiseptic or a band aid would have been helpful.  You never know what will happen when you’re out in the middle of nowhere.  We survived just fine but thought we might suggest that.We truly enjoyed ourselves and were pleasantly surprised how well everything went.  We appreciate your concern with our trip as usually we never hear from the tour operator again after the trip is over.  Thanks again


Posted on Dec. 20, 13
Judy & Kevin W
San Diego, California, USA

TID 680 Dr Rupinder Bhutan Tour (29.10.13 – 06.11.13)
Dear Anand, We are finally getting settled after the amazing time we had at Bhutan. KT and Baliman were great for taking us to all the wonderful places and getting us back safely. Overall, the trip was well organized, except for a few minor glitches. We were not crazy about the hotel in Punakha. My wife did fine, but I would have liked a little more diverse food. All in all, it was a wonderful trip and we are defiantly coming back, and when we do, I'll like you folks to make all our arrangements including having KT and Baliman work with us. Thanks for making our trip a huge success. All the best.


Dr. Rupinder S
Maryland, USA

TID 710 Glimpse of Bhutan (19.07.13 – 24.07.13)

Hi Ugen, Thanks very much for your follow up on our trip. We had a really lovely time in Bhutan and the visiting your country was truly impactful.  Thanks for helping us to organize this wonderful trip. Overall, we were happy with the service provided by Wind Horse. Some of the more disappointing aspects were the hotels and restaurants. While the standards were fine, there seemed to be a real lack of hospitality and personal experience in these hotels. It was clear in some hotels that the staff didn't care much about providing good service to customers. I realize that this is out of Wind horse’s control and that the tourism industry is quite young and small in Bhutan, but perhaps this is something that Wind Horse could consider urging hotels to invest in. In fact, it probably would have been much more interesting and memorable to stay in a very simple homestay then to have stayed in those hotels. It also would have been great to have the option  to eat our dinners outside of the hotel...i understand that there is not a lot of selection, but it would feel much less confining to go somewhere new. Again, a meal cooked in a local home could be a really fantastic and unique experience for tourists.I hope some of these ideas might be useful to you. They are things that I have experienced in other countries that have worked very nicely. So thanks again for the wonderful experience and opportunity to visit your country. It was really a privilege. 

Best,


Posted on Dec. 20, 13
Tiziana S
San Antonio, TX, United State.

Find Your Trip
Advanced Search
Go To Top

About UsTravel Center   |  Customize Trip   |  FAQ   |  Agents   |  Sitemap   |  Link Exchange   |  Contact Us

Paypal Verified : Secure Payment by PayPal Subscribe Trip List in RSS Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Find us on Youtube Like us on Google Find us on Pintrest Wind Horse Holidays, Inc. is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Travel Agencies & Bureaus in Minneapolis MN ABTOThe International Ecotourism SocietyBetter Bureau Of Business IATO (Indian Association of Tour Operators)bhutan tourism council

Disclaimer/Privacy
All contents © copyright 2010. Wind Horse Holidays, All Rights Reserved.

Wind Horse Holidays, Inc:

USA: 6415 Vincent Ave. S.

Suite# U Minneapolis, MN 55423

1888 83 HORSE (46773), Tel. +1 (612) 869 4949 Fax +1(612) 861 1996

Australia: 6-(128)-310-4154

United Kingdom Or UK: 02033717768

 

Bhutan Office: PBox 1021. Chubachu, Thimphu

North India HQ: B-3/36, First Floor, Sector-16, Rohini, Delhi 110089

Sikkim & Darjeeling: Batasia, P. O Ghoom, Darjeeling, WB 734102, Phone: +91. 973. 326 0293

Customer Support: Samphel Bld, #203, Phuentsholing, Bhutan (Border town with India and near Sikkim, Darjeeling and Nepal)