Find Sight

University of Mumbai

The name of the University was changed from University of Bombay to University of Mumbai
It is abbreviated as either (UoM) for University of Mumbai or as (MU) for Mumbai University. Initially, the Elphinstone College building was used for Mumbai University. Most of the colleges in the city of Mumbai and the districts of Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg are affiliated with the University of Mumbai. The University of Mumbai offers Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral degrees to students. The main Library or Central Library is Jawaharlal Nehru Library (JNL) with almost a million books (850,000), documents and Scientific Journals, Thesis, Encyclopedias, along with over 30,000 microfilms and over 1200 rare manuscripts, IMF reports, census records and access to several hundreds of E-Journals through online subscription. The (JNL) catalogue is computerised. The Library largely contains books with basic sciences and the social and behavioural sciences. Several departments of the University of Mumbai are located at places other than the fort or Kalina campus. These include the Mumbai University Institute of Chemical Technology, formerly (UDCT). The departments of Medicine and Medical Research are spread out across several prominent hospitals in Mumbai. Chief amongst these are the Tata Memorial Hospital, Bombay Hospital and G.S. Medical College of the University of Mumbai. St. Xavier's College was the first degree-granting college affiliated to the University.