Named after the sacred power place where Guru Rinpoche (8th century) left the imprint of his body (kurjey) on solid rock which can be seen from inside the shrine. The complex consists of three large temples surrounded by a perimeter of 108 stupas. Upon entering, the first temple to the right is Guru Lhakhang (which houses the cave) dating from 1652. The middle temple Sampalundrup was built by the first King Ugyen Wangchuk in 1900, during his tenure as Trongsa Penlop. The third temple is recently constructed under the patronage of Her Majesty queen mother Ashi Kesang Wangchuk.