Heap of Jewels - fortress
Rinphung Dzong was consecrated in 1645 by Shabdrung Nawang Namgyal on the site of smaller fort. Throughout the 17th and 18th centuries it served as a bastion against invasion from the north. It is regarded as one of the finest Bhutanese architecture - with intricate wood work, large beams slotted into each other and held together without nails. In it houses the giant 30m X 45m Thangka (Thongdrol), commissioned in mid 18th century, displayed on the last day of Paro Tsechu festival. Rinphung Dzong is the district headquarter of Paro and residence of state monks under Paro rabdey.
Administrative offices line the first courtyard of the Dzong. The Utse (tower) of the Dzong is one of the most beautiful in Bhutan with its outstanding woodwork. In 1905 the Dzong caught fire, but was repaired in 1908/9 to its original state with the addition of statues of Guru Rinpoche, Buddha and the Zhabdrung. The most precious object of the Dzong, is the Thongdroel, a 20×20 meter wide Thangka –applique work. It was saved from the fire and is annually displayed to public during the Paro Tshechu Festival.